You find time for what is important to you

As some of you may have noticed, it’s Lack of Time week on Yellow Turtle Fitness’s Facebook page.

The one reason I hear from people for not starting, and keeping, an exercise routine is that they’re “too busy”.

While I certainly sympathise, it’s just not true.

Don’t get me wrong – there are days when I feel like there’s just too much going on for me to fit anything in; and when I finally am free, I’m just too tired.

There have been days where I have skipped my workouts(with the guilt of a 1000 mothers weighing in my mind).

And let’s not forget the YEAR AND A HALF where I just let it all go down the tubes… barely bothering. I not only gained a lot of weight, but I paid a serious price in lost fitness gains. The road to get back is that much harder because of it.

Here’s the thing, though.

I had the time.

Of course I did. There’s 24 hours in a day. I only spend 6-8 of those hours sleeping. How much time was I spending checking Facebook, watching TV, shopping for leisure, reading books and magazines for leisure, pursuing hobbies, or just sitting?

The 5, 10, 15, or 20 idle minutes scattered here and there really add up to a lot of lost time. Even if you don’t have a full hour to devote to exercise every day, you more than likely DO have 15 minutes that you can free.

Just 15 minutes is all it takes to get yourself back in the mindset. Sometimes, when you commit to that 15 minutes, you decide that you can keep going. And it becomes a 1/2 hour… then 45 minutes… then an hour.

There even comes a time where you look forward to this “me time”, and enjoy it. You’re making yourself better with every 15 minutes you devote.

To get your 15 minutes, you can:

-walk/run on a treadmill

-walk around your work building on break

-walk/run outside

-bike to work

-do a quick set of cardio(jumpking jacks or burpees) and body resistance(like wall pushes or push-ups) moves

-do a set of jumping jacks, push-ups, squats, and/or burpees on commercial breaks when watching tv

-do calf raises when making dinner

-take the stairs instead of the elevator/escalator

-go for a morning or evening swim

-jump rope for a few minutes before eating breakfast, or on breaks(a jump rope is also easy to travel with!)

-do a 10-15 minute exercise video. Especially those touted as HIIT(High Intensity Interval Training), or things like Tony Horton’s 10 Minute Trainer, any of the free videos at http://www.dailyhiit.com/, or other quick videos on youtube.

There are millions of different ways to fit exercise into your day. Aim for at least 15 cumulative minutes. If you can do more, do it!

With persistence, you’ll find more ways and more time. You’ll begin to see and feel the changes that only 15 minutes get you, which will spur you to want to see what a little more time can do.

Your workouts don’t have to be perfect. They don’t have to be all at once. They just need to be done – and every little bit counts.

There’s always someone out there, busier than you, that manages to find the time to exercise and eat right. You have the time, but if you look for an excuse, you’ll find one.

It all comes down to what is important to you. Number one on your list should be your health and well-being. If you don’t have that, your entire quality of life goes down.

Make time for what is important to you, and make you important to you.

Have you had trouble in the past(or present) fitting in workouts?

What did you do to overcome it? What do you plan to do to make a change?

